Nongshim Udon Premium Noodle Soup

It’s been a few months I’ll admit but I’m back to do more reviews! Anyway today’s lunch was a first; trying a Udon pot, I’ve had plenty of cup noodles in the past but not Udon. This particular one is made by Nongshim and is from Korea, it’s pretty obvious though that this has been made for the American market just from the labelling. I like how the packet says ‘Japanese Style’ as if made in Korea these won’t taste quite so authentic.

The pot itself is a shrink wrapped polystyrene bowl, I don’t really like poly cup noodles since they’re hard to dispose of once your done. It also comes with a printed plastic lid which has a substantial feel to it, instructions are on the top in English so easy to follow!


Open it up and you’ll find three packs – Udon, soup base and then the topping of various dried ingredients. The first step is actually to cook the Udon. Boil the kettle, fill to the line and then wait for three minutes. I was a bit suspicious of the noodles at this point since they felt a little greasy like they’d been lightly oiled. Very similar to those ‘straight to wok’ type noodles you get at the supermarket. 

The lid has little holes in it to help you drain away the noodle water before you move on to part two. I love these kind of lids as it’s a really easy pour without burning your hands. It’s time for the noodle soup packet and the toppings, again fill to the line and wait a minute. I did think the broth was a very dark colour for the amount of water to thin it out.

The taste of the broth was quite strong but not unpleasant. If you’ve ever had soy sauce mixed with bonito flakes pre mixed in a bottle that’s what it tasted like. A little fishy, a little smokey, slightly sweet and quite salty. I always expect cup noodles just to taste cheap partly because of how little they cost, this one has a decent broth just not very special. The nutritional information on the front revealed that just one packet of this was 102% of your daily salt intake so you might want to skimp on the broth. It’s a salty broth and it’s not inedible but honestly if I’d only put half the broth mix in I probably wouldn’t have noticed.


The Udon that I was initially worried about on the other hand was actually pretty good. It wasn’t brittle and hadn’t turned to mush during the cooking process. It had a good bite to it and was that slightly square type of Udon you sometimes get. The little packet of topping had rehydrated in the broth nicely as well. A good amount of tempura scraps, green onion and narutomaki in tiny slivers.

I’d say this turned out better than I’d expected, for me preparing cup noodle is fun because I don’t do it that often! My only tip would be to water down the broth a little more than the instructions suggest. 7/10


Leave a Reply

